Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A-Z food challenge: I is for Israel

I visited Israel for a couple of days back in 2010 as part of a Middle East tour through Egypt, Jordan and Israel. I had read about these sandwiches of aubergine, egg & mango, called Sabich, that were brought into Israel by Iraqi settlers, and was desperate to taste one.

Alas, I didn't manage to fit one in (my mouth) before I had to fly on to my next destination and I was very disappointed. So today I decided to make my own. I had to fudge the amba (a type of mango chutney) slightly but other than that, stuck to the recipe.

This is a really delicious sandwich with a lot of taste sensations going on in the mouth! Which makes me even sadder that I didn't get to taste the real deal in Tel Aviv. I guess that means I have to go back!

Monday is 'J' and we'll be eating Japanese!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.