Scott Memorial, Edinburgh

A late blip as I've had a busy day. I had a quick day-trip to Edinburgh by train, to induct a trainee onto the course I'm involved with since my retirement, to provide formal training and a qualification for technicians who work in eye clinics. Of course I ensured I had a few spare minutes with my camera to find a blip, and chose this view of the tip of the Scott Memorial on Princes Street, as seen through the columns of the Royal Scottish Academy. I used in-camera HDR (don't tell John Gravett!) and I rather like the painterly effect it's produced.

Almost as soon as I got home it was time to change into my "Penguin Suit" to attend the annual old boys' dinner at my old school (RGS Newcastle), the demolished swimming pool of which I blipped on Tuesday. It was a good meal and a good chance to renew one or two old acquaintances. (I was driving, so as to be able to give my Dad a lift there & back - he's an old boy of the school too, the oldest one present at the dinner in fact - so whoopee, I won't have a hangover tomorrow, as I suspect several of the other attendees will.) The main speaker (also an old boy) was rather fun, if somewhat risque!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.