Changing from swan down to feathers

Since I first blipped the cygnets here they have grown and now losing their down and changing colour to become that grey/black so distinctive of cygnus atratus.

I took far too many photos and the day has run away and I can't see anything better in a hurry so it will be funny if Blipmate has something similar. We couldn't see where the cygnets were until the cob came from way up the backwater and the cygnets called to him as he came tearing up to  the small bits of bread I had thrown. Then the family joined him. They were well hidden behind some rushes.

I have some extras but have to make room. We were spoiled for choice today with bird life and all in funny possies- up trees, on the bridge, and too far away as per usual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.