Revealed

Pressing my nose against the window pane of a derelict house, as you do,  a most pleasing sight was revealed. The house is actually for sale and someone had obviously been in and revealed, with utmost precision and care, the different layers of wallpaper. And how cool they are - works of art in themselves. And look at all the colours the wainscoting has been, admittedly slightly funkied up. As I was admiring it all I then spotted the piece de resistance - a holy water bottle in the shape of the BVM left on wainscotting!  Oddly satisfactory in my opinion. Slightly bizarre, hopefully a contender for Admirer's Silly Saturday challenge.

A very good time was had in Skibbereen. Himself does the shopping and I get to explore. I blame Talpa for I was investigating whether the old watch house still remained in the cemetery in Chapel Lane - for a full explanation of what I am going on about visit Talpa's rather good new website : Echoes of the Resurrection Men. An atmospheric graveyard but no watch house. 

I think son#2 and his girl should be arriving shortly in Auckland - it's 5.30am in the morning!  Talk about being dazed and confused, what a long journey. I bet they will be thrilled to feel terra firma, I know I would.
Edit: They have arrived and are looking good!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.