Starring the Dancing Girls in: Containerfest!

I may have mentioned this before but let me say it again: I am obsessed with containers! I love them. I collect them. I adore them to distraction. I buy containers I don't even USE just because I like the looks of them. TINY containers, I love best of all. Cuteness - they can has it!

This was a good day. Do you want to know why? Because I got to buy FOUR of my favorite containers! They are, in fact, called Snapware. They are little, round containers with snap lids reinforced with a red rubber seal. They officially state on the bottom that they hold 4 fluid ounces, but in actuality, you can fit 5. I know this from experience. I am an expert.

They are the best containers I know of. When I go out for bisque (as I did earlier this week), I take one along and bring a small serving of Nittany Lion Inn lobster bisque home for later. It fits nicely in my fanny pack, and it has a airtight seal that does not EVER spill. Not EVER.

And in case you're wondering, I had lobster bisque for breakfast the next day. It was delish! Even BETTER than the day before, if you can believe it, each bite of seafood so tender, the soup so creamy and good. But I digress . . .

My husband and I went into town for lunch on this day, and we stopped at Giant for a few groceries afterward. I thought I needed more containers. (Truth be told, I love these so much, and I am afraid they'll stop making them someday.)

They were on sale for 15% off, for a little more than $2 per container. Reasonable enough, I thought, especially for a favorite thing. So I came home with FOUR of these. My addiction: let me show you it! (OK, so it's a cheap habit. It keeps me off the streets.)

Of course, then I wanted to do a photo shoot. Some people celebrate Oktoberfest in October, with lots of drinking and cavorting. At our house on this day, we celebrated Containerfest! You may see the containers in the photo above, but alas not the lids.

And here is why. My original concept for this photo shoot was to feature ONE Dancing Girl INSIDE each container. Those little glass critters down front are the NEWEST little friends I bought. I got them at the Arts Fest in Boalsburg back in July. On this day, I figured I'd give each Dancing Girl a new critter; feature a girl and a critter inside each new container, lids on, containers neatly stacked.

But the Dancing Girls didn't WANT to go into the containers. Even less so, with the lids on. They got claustrophobic, they pitched a fit, they refused to do it! (*sigh* Managing the talent . . . ) So we ended up with the photo shoot as you see it above: four girls sitting atop two of the new containers, no lids, and the new little critters down in front, meeting and greeting the Crittergators.

So let me introduce you to the newbies, left to right: green grasshopper, blue penguin, blue and teal hummingbird, teal hedgehog (or tiggywinkle), blue elephant. And there was a surprise guest who also made an appearance. It's very, very small, but you can see it down on the lower left between the grasshopper and the green Crittergator.

One of the girls, you see, brought her own pet aphid along inside! Yes, she has her own pet! The tiny green aphid had very lovely manners, and it was well behaved. It walked all around during our little photo shoot. And afterwards, I took it outside and put it back on the fuchsia plant, which is its home. By the way, this is the only photo shoot (so far) to feature an aphid!

Buying containers makes me happy. So here is a happy song to go along with this blip: Pharrell Williams, with Happy. The video stars Didga, the world's best skateboarding cat. (Yes, Dexter and I are fans!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.