Chapel Well

nr Nunnery, Armathwaite

After an aborted trip into the Lakes and 3 trips round Booths car park in Keswick I cut my losses; the weather was foul and it was busy so on my way home and seeing some sun shining on in the Eden valley, I decided on a little well adventure that had been at the back of mind for a while. I'm not sure if my fellow local well hunter, PaulaJ, has already been to this one but there is a bit more information here.

I'd forgotten how exciting it was to find an unusual well.
It was the well for the Armathwaite nunnery and sits near Croglin Water which feeds into the River Eden. There is an inscribed stone carved with 'Sanctuarium 1088'.

I still find it difficult coming out to this spot since they closed the Nunnery Walks. These walks had been wonderful landscaped walks along the Croglin to the Eden that were on the tourist trail going back to Wordsworth's time (he wrote a poem of course). I used to bring mum and dad here as it was a perfect little expedition and a nice lunch. They were closed years ago when it changed hands and all access was closed off by the new landowner.  I decided to have a Kinder Scout moment. Not so much a mass trespass but a solitary skirmish but didn't get far ... Come the revolution ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.