the last supper …

… before Anniemay comes home.

Although she left clear instructions concerning the consumption (or not) of one of mankind’s most imaginative, convenient and delicious culinary inventions, complete abstinence, in her absence, was never going to happen.  It was just a question of choosing the right moment.

I like them savoury or sweet, hot or cold, vegetarian or otherwise.  My favourite has to be an Aussie pie.  Mollymay and Glyn inducted me in the ways of the Aussie pie a few years ago and it’s not something I’ve forgotten.  In a way, eating this brings me closer to them.  

The more I think about it, the more it becomes a duty to eat pies in order to keep in contact and maintain family bonds on the other side of the world.  A thankless task perhaps, but someone has to do it and as I don’t do facebook, it’s the least I can do.

This particular pie contains steak, ale, mushrooms and Stilton cheese.  It has a mash potato topping - which is bit avant garde for me, being a traditional pastry lid sort of person.  But I like to live a little dangerously from time to time.


Hope you’ve all had a good weekend.  Bon appetite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.