Another yurt camp

Cake and fried egg and yogurt for breakfast, then into the bus by 9 for the drive to yurt camp. Stopped at garish ceramics place, then a water cistern - in days of caravanserai they were 45km apart as that's as far as camels could go in a day. We had to dash Across the 3 lanes each side motorway for the remains of caravaneserie. Had a coffee in bus then off to a tomb of Mir Sayyid someone, similar but not as complex as the one in Bukhara. Then Alex the Great fortress (maybe or maybe not.) where we had a climb up to the top and got a great view of the town and surrounding desert. Finally reached camp about 4.45 and immediately went out for camel ride. I wasn't that bothered but I'd only ever ridden a camel with one hump before (from St Catherine's monastery to the top of Mt Sinai) so thought I'd better experience the 2 hump camels - very wobbly when it stood up. I'm not screaming in fear in the blip - it is hysterical laughter.

I shared a sleeping yurt with Anna, Chloe, and Anne. Dinner in big yurt. Nice salads, soup with veg and chick peas (mine strained out) then 2 greasy fried onion dumplings washed down with the medicinal vodka. A musician played afterwards - I don't know the instrument, - a 3 stringed violin type thing - but it was lovely

Happily I was in a No snoring Yurt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.