Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

The big orange

As I mentioned in yesterday' blip, there have been a lot of wildfires in neighbouring Galicia and northern Portugal as well as some here in Asturias. Sadly some fatalities.

So when we got up this morning and saw this strange sky we knew immediately what it was.

Reading the news it travelled as far as the UK where it was ascribed to dust from the Sahara. But while the edge of Ophelia did go over the fires in north-west Iberia, it had come in from the Atlantic and hadn't been near Africa.

When I popped out for a snack lunchtime the waiter had to wipe the specs of ash from the table. So I think there's little doubt that it was smoke and not dust.

The funny thing is that I didn't perceive the sky to be as orange as it came out in the photos. I tried with camera and phone and with different light settings but they were all very orange. I wonder whether eyes said orange but brain said "Nah, don't be silly" so brain and eyes compromised on the duller orangey-browney colour, more of a sepia, that I percieved. I can see in this picture that the illuminated white sign at top right does appear white, so the sky is presumably rendered correctly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.