Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Tea Time

Our last day up in Edinburgh and a few things to sort out The Man was having trouble with his sim cards for his new mobile phone so a trip to The Ghyll shopping centre was planned. 

Next port of call was the allotment to do a couple of jobs, one of which was picking up our tools. I didn't know at the time why we needed to go to Tesco but found out,later, that it was to pick up some Ben & Jerry's dairy free ice cream!

By the time we got back to the flat it was lunchtime, so I was excused doing a job that had been assigned to me as it would have made a mess on the table, lifting lots of things down from the sideboard shelves.

I did however lift this little trio out of the glass cabinet. It forms part of a tea service given to my great aunt as a wedding present. That would have been in the 1920s which it's Art Deco design suggests. I used to love seeing it as a child when I went to Auntie's house. After our great aunt died my cousin got it. She then had a rethink about things and offered it to my mum. When mum died Kat said she would like to be its next caretaker.

I wish I'd photographed the maker's stamp then I could have Googled the firm and found out more about this period of porcelain.

Strange evening: I'm putting this up a day late, Monday, and the storm (not in tea-cup proportions has hit) Our house was almost plunged into darkness. The main lights went out and so did most of the appliences. However, the LED lamps stayed on and the router has stayed on. I've never known that happen in a power-cut before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.