Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

More human than human

You realise how reliant you are on your smart phone when you leave it in someone’s car and it goes to work with them. With all your plastic payment options in the battered faux leather case.

I worked around it. Had enough cash to get to the hospital in Guildford where I had an out-patient appointment and then up to the office in Leatherhead to pick up the all important device.

The ENT consultant removed enough earwax from me to start a candle factory and then ran audiology tests which revealed some hearing loss but still quite a lot of function. Surgery not recommended (I had already decided I didn’t want to go down that route anyway). Hearing aid referral is the next step.

I also made an eye test appointment for Sunday and a dental appointment for the not too distant future. We can rebuild him …

Anyway in the afternoon I went to The Third Estate in Camden to buy vegan shoes and a vegan jumper having had a vegan Thali curry across the road. They were lovely people and assured me that when scuffed my footwear would be indistinguishable from leather, not that I care about such things. Comfort is all.

Met Mr Bear at Waterloo for a couple of beers in the unchangingly gruesome Hole in the Wall then went to the Imax for Blade Runner, after which I required counselling for the sheer scale and complexity of it all. But magnificent and beautiful.

Quick supper in Wagamamas then a couple of beers in the Kings Head in Roupell Street before heading home.

Good day. Felt more human than human …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.