Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Swimming and Pilates

I was down at the duck pond by 9.30 this morning. I went via the local council swimming pool, where I wanted to purchase a pair of goggles for this evening, having given up in town on Saturday (after two shops - I give up easily). I knew they sold them there. Except they've run out of them. They had real professional ones that looked like you could also use them on your motorbike, and they were expensive. Plan B - back into town to get them in JL, where I should have gone in the first place.

I took my macro lens with me in my camera bag. I don't normally bring my camera bag, preferring my camera to be ready for any eventuality. Except rain. And so if I'd like to use my macro lens, I can't, as I never have it with me. I have now resolved to carry both. In the bag.

I had fun taking macros of flowers in people's gardens. It's very hard, because there's usually a wind, or you move - even breathing changes the focus - you really need something to lean on. Further towards the duck pond, the houses got posher, and they had big walls so that you couldn't see their gardens.

I spent a pleasant hour at the duck pond. There's always somebody throwing bread and I'd rush round to stand with them and take photos. Then they'd go away and I'd spot someone on the other side, and I'd rush round to them. I took loads of photos, but have fairly rapidly got rid of most of them! The cygnets spend a lot of their time with their heads in the water, which is very boring. They soon got bored with me when they realised I had no food. But the feeling was mutual.

As I was leaving, the swans were standing on their island, stretching their legs and doing their Pilates. That is, until another family with a toddler and bread came along - they were off! I have quite a lot in common with my feathered friends - swimming and Pilates! And abandoning any exercise when food is on the go!

I popped in to see Uncle A, and then got the bus into town to buy the goggles. I had been thinking that I really needed to have a tripod with me to use the macro, but in JL I spotted the very thing - a monopod! Light, easy to carry, possibly just as good as its three legged cousin. Result.

Goggles, monopod, posting Pensions form(s) - it's been a successful day so far.

Oh- uh... swimming class tonight. The day might not end on a successful note...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.