Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Top of the class! Not quite as good as it sounds..

Yes, I survived my second swimming lesson. In fact, I was top of the class!

Mind you, these are Absolute Beginners, some of whom don't want to put their face under water, so it's actually nothing to write home about. Oh... I just did.

I knew things were different this week, when he said 'Now, floating on our backs' and one girl shouted out, 'Oh no!' and he laughed. I think you're allowed to say you can't in this class.

The teacher was like a different person. Gone was the sergeant major of last week, and in his place was a sweet, patient, funny, smiling, helpful swimming teacher.

He was in the pool the whole time, holding people's hands, giving high fives if we did a wee bit better than last time, joking and laughing and walking alongside us encouraging us to keep going. Of course, he couldn't put beginners off by shouting at them to do things. He does teach kids too, after all.

First off, he got me to demonstrate!

No, not a pencil dive.

Nor yet a mushroom float.

Or even my amazing corkscrew.

No, I had to demonstrate the highly skilled art of climbing down steps into the pool.

Mmm. I can sense you're underwhelmed by the opportunity to display my skills.

How about this - another time he said, 'Right, Maestro. Float on your back.' Easy peasy.

I think I shouldn't be in this class either, but that means I need to be in the Post-Post-Absolute-Beginners class, and there is no such thing.

The goggles weren't much good. They kept steaming up and although they were very tight round my head, as in head-achey tight, they always let water in. Maybe I should have splashed out (pun intended) and gone for ones costing more than £1.99.

Went out this morning with my camera bag and lenses, and my new monopod. There are lots of gardens to peer into and I must say, I found the monopod to be extremely useful. It's just the wind that's a nuisance, as it always whips up just as I've lined up my subject. I chose this shot because I like the wee bonus starbursts, which I just noticed when I viewed it on the computer.

I was going down town to purchase some black material (thanks for the tip, BikerBear) but I only got as far as our famous local fish shop, spotted some squid rings, and bought a pile of them for tea and came home.

I'm supposed to be doing a 'deep clean' of the house and stairs as we have Kiwi pals coming tomorrow and my normal standard of housekeeping does not apply. Apparently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.