Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Shower spray is for showers

A quick blip today, as the 'deep clean' and preparations for this afternoon's guests continues. Although my 'deep clean' of yesterday seemed to pass muster. At least, there were only a few things questioned and examined. It's amazing how tidied up the lounge looks merely by clearing the junk off the coffee table and making sure there is a smell of polish.

Dusty mirrors, too, are a sure sign of neglectful duties - but I've wised up to that one. Same with tops of picture frames. And moving a chair slightly completes the illusion.

So this morning I've postponed my duties to do my blip. I have admired the many flower blips with dark backgrounds, so I've been meaning to try it. We had some roses that were a bit past their best, so I wanted to do one today.

On rummaging through a wardrobe (not mine) I found a big black shawl/scarf/wrap. Perfect! I set up the black background, picked out the rose that was least dying, and propped it up in the cheese grater.

I took a few photos and then wanted to add dew drops. I don't have a water spray, so I used the shower cleaning spray. This just created bubbles, which didn't look too authentic, and in fact, hastened the end of the session, as the rose wilted completely.

I tweaked the levels, saturated the colours a bit more, as the only photo I had before I killed it, was over exposed. I fiddled around with some filters and settled on a slight 'plastic wrap' effect. I do like the black scarf background. I think I shall be having fun with this technique on wet winter days.

But enough of this blipping fun. Duties call. I'm off to move some chairs around and spray polish in the air.

I suspect I won't be able to comment much this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.