Hood Mountain

My friend Fran, who lives across town, with a bird's eye view across the valley, sent this picture of Hood Mountain where the fire nearest us is burning. I got a similar view as I drove across Highway 12 toward Santa Rosa. This is the first time since last Monday that the mountains haven't been completely obscured by thick brown smoke. The evacuation order for the area south of Highway twelve was lifted this afternoon, but we are north of it so at least another night in Sebastopol.

I did check out the live fire map when I got back and there are NO red dots or squares on our end of the Oakmont fire.This is good news. We'll be hoping the wind doesn't come up again.

My neighbor and friend Cindy, has been staying at the Oakland Airport Hilton with her husband , their son and their dogs, a huge Newfoundland, Banjo and a very large basset hound, Hank. The Raiders football team and their notoriously crazy fans from all over the country also stay there. Hank and Banjo are getting a LOT of attention! And giving a lot of displaced Santa Rosans some light relief....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.