Doing What They do Best

The good news is that they are getting control of many of the fires. The bad news is that the one closest to us was the last to start and is still very active. It's difficult to get the specific news we would like to have, but we know it is a priority right now, and are fine with the fact that they aren't sparing personnel to update fire maps.

I don't know quite what it means but I got up this morning and started unpacking. I found an empty shelf and carefully arranged my three pairs of pants, four tee shirts and some underwear on it. I hooked up my computer, tidied up what I call my 'ditty bag' and discovered that I needed to refill a prescription. I drove to the pharmacy in Santa Rosa and picked it up, then made my way to Acre coffee in Montgomery Village. I would say I was on autopilot, except for the fact that I was coming from the opposite direction.The fire map I put in extras was posted nearby.I'm putting a fire map, posted in Santa Rosa yesterday in the extras. For anyone interested, the little round fire to the left of the Nun's fire is called the Oakmont Fire and it is the one closest to our street, Wildwood Mountain Road.

Back in Sebastopol, Dana and OilMan are doing what they do best...working in the garden. It really doesn't matter that it's not their gardens. What state they are in right now doesn't bear thinking about... On the other side of those tall shrubs is the little farmhouse we rented from Kelly and Maureen for four years. The sandy loam soil of Sebastopol is very different from our rock and clay and OilMan is back in gopher catching mode with a vengeance.

I send my love and thoughts to all you blippers in Ireland and wherever else in the wake of Ophelia. I have seen the pictures of the red suns and ruminated on the fact that we are all seeing red suns and hunkering down for such entirely different reasons. Apocalyptic doesn't seem like a stretch....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.