Tree Tunnel

There are a lot of streets in Santa Rosa, especially in the hills, that have overarching oak trees like this. I was on my way home from class today when I realized that it would soon be dark and I hadn't taken a single picture , so this will have to be it. I probably shouldn't get points for stopping in the middle of the street to take a picture, but it's the best I could do today....

The fake news class today was taught by a political science professor at Sonoma State University who is also a pollster. He talked about "predictability vs. inevitability". This is the first time he has taught a class for the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute* and he obviously enjoys  teaching people who 1.) Want to be there. 2.) Vote and know how government is supposed to work and what congressional district they live in 3. Remember the Vietnam War,  the assassination of John F. Kennedy, and managed to function quite well in the dark ages before computers...

Speaking of which, my phone upgraded itself last night. I didn't ask it to. It tricked me into it. I resist this because something always goes wrong and today was no exception.  I can't open my Blipfoto app. I should be able to delete it and reinstall it, but I'm trying to make sure I won't lose all my data if I do.  It should be on the cloud,** but I don't find that that fact gives me the courage to delete the whole thing, even though it's not doing me much good if I can't open it.

*Programs offered by the Bernard Osher Foundation which targets "more mature students, especially those who have retired and are interested in learning for the joy of learning, and keeping in touch with a larger world"
**I read an article about how much energy is used by the huge data centers which we rather nebulously call the 'cloud'. It's a lot considering it's a cloud....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.