If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Borlotti Beans

An early start as we headed off for Edinburgh to see Katkatkat.  We met in Morningside  and after a lovely lunch in Rocket (A cafe) we headed for her allotment.  My main aim for me was the removal of some quite large Hawthorns which the previous occupant had planted for a wind break.  Katkatkat has,I think sensibly, decided cordon or espalier fruit trees will be more sensible.

I was a little surprised at the amount of produce she still has in ground.  I had never seen Berlotti beans before.  It appears they are very nutritious, containing low  Saturated Fat, Cholesterol and Sodium. They are also a good source of Protein, Thiamin, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Copper and Manganese, and a good source of Dietary Fibre and Folate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.