A Bird in the Hand

What an upside down day this has been! Repairing the shop/studio out back has taken on a life of its own, far far more than we had originally bargained for when we decided to go ahead and replace (a few) rotten boards. Peeling away layers reveals more and more damage, more rot, more work. The room was pretty full with a couple work tables, paper cabinet, bookshelves full of stuff. My original reorganization was to get things a bit away from the wall so the contractor had some access; then we had to consolidate a bit more when the work got more complicated. This morning I was told, nicely, that the sheetrocker works best in an empty room, oh, and the first stage of that work is tomorrow. Never never never would we have chosen to do this, but now it's in for a penny in for a pound, or ten or twenty. I did. Actually. Move enough stuff to make it work. Starting with a hopeless mound, I somehow just tackled one pile at a time until the room was manageable. I didnt really plan to do this with my day; it was gonna be more like a trip to the farmers' market, library and Peet's, then maybe a little weeding. Hah! I am exhausted, especially knowing that in a couple weeks I get to reverse move everything all over again. The obvious solution is to get rid of some stuff, but would that be the art paper, the finished drawings, the art supplies, the framing materials? On the very plus side I do get to redo the space so it works better, but at the moment Im drawing a blank on the whole project. Time for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.