If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Slate Fence Post

In spite of the warnings of the approaching ex-hurricane Ophelia it was a fairly pleasant day and relatively calm.  Having had no other inspiration after a visit to a local farm shop we decided to head along to the old Keswick road for some shots.

My scenes didn't turn out as I would have liked, so I have decided on this little oddity.  Living most of my life on the outskirts of the Lake District I am familiar with "slate gate posts".   These aren't as you might envisage.  They appear to have been used in years gone by.  A slab of slate had round holes cut in it and poles would be threaded into them to close the gap.  A bit like you used to see on corrals in old cowboy films.

I don't ever remember seeing a slate fence post before and that is all I can imagine this to be.  The holes are only large enough to thread wire through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.