Through the Trees

Dear Diary,

Our weather has been amazing this week.  Absolutely ideal for October.  Matt finished up the outside chores for now.  He will be back in November for some roof repairs and more raking.

For now, I can bask in the glorious sunshine and take in the last of the spectacular foliage.  I am using a lot of superlatives today!

This is little Jay Bird Pond down the road from the house.  It catches the afternoon sunlight perfectly.  I didn’t walk down to the shore but chose to shoot through the trees as I liked the way the trees framed the spot of flaming orange on the far bank.

There were some Canadian geese honking loudly.  It is such a fall sound for me.  They are on their way south now but must have stopped for a rest at the pond.

Today will be a quiet one for me.  I need it after all the activity this week.  I do like to get things done, check them off my “to do” list and the fall has a lot of things on the list.  Getting ready for winter is a big deal around here.

Emerson is loving his new enhanced diet.  He had lost 2 pounds when I brought him for his checkup this week so his vet suggested adding more calories to his diet.  Otherwise he seems in fine shape.  He is about 13 years old so I have to be more vigilant now for little changes.  He is such a wonderful and loving companion for me.  I will do all that is necessary to keep him well.

Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns. – George Eliot

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.