LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

The Print Drier

This enormous beast, about the size of a small wardrobe, is the Photographic Society's print drier. It'll dry resin coated prints in about 10 minutes, fiber based in about half an hour ( though I've only tried fiber once and they curled horribly).

Another 8 hours in the darkroom today, which probably takes me up to about 40 in total and hopefully I've made all the mistakes and learnt all the lessons from them that I need to and now I can get on with some proper printing.

Tried a bit of dodging today, up until now I've only really been doing straight prints. It takes a bit of getting your head around but when I come back from the weekend back in the north east I'm going to have to get some florists wire and blu-tak and a decent pair of scissors to make some cut-outs.

I've also managed to pick up a comprehensive book of photographic processes that covers a host of processes and how they are achieved. I'm thinking my next purchase, instead of bottles of developers and fixers and stuff, is going to be a large batch of raw chemicals so I can be a proper mad scientist and mix up new formulae in my lab. Muhahahhaha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.