A garden to last a thousand years

I was down at the Oban Millennium Garden today, wearing my Keep Oban Beautiful hat, not literally, of course. 

I'd plonked an old timber planter into position at the end of one of the borders in an attempt to discourage the kids from running down the back and exiting through the flower bed. 

Homebase Oban had very kindly donated some pebbles for drainage, five 120 litre bags of compost and ten plants with which to fill the planter. It may not work, but I hope will stop some of the damage. I'll go back in a couple of days to see whether they've all been yanked out and thrown over the fence on to the tennis court!

In the fullness of time I want to find some larger shrubs to plant on what was the old path, working on the assumption that if all the soil is covered, there will be less likelihood of kids running through the beds. 

What was that? Did I hear a snort of derision?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.