Public Service Broadcasting (AGAIN)

I don't think I've seen any band as often as I've seen Public Service Broadcasting yet when the tickets came out for their latest tour, I found that both my enthusiasm and the Minx's for seeing them was undiminished, despite the fact we'd already been to the album launch in Ebbw Vale.

I have a real dislike of Manchester Academy 1 as a venue so we'd opted to see the gig in Newcastle but we have a pretty busy week, this week, so we scrapped our plans to stay over and just went for the evening. The venue was The Boiler Shop, which was quite an interesting space, quite cavernous, in fact. But the sound was good and we found a spot just in front of the desk.

When I first saw PSB (at the Picturedrome in Holmfirth) they were performing as a two-piece but now they have three main musicians, an occasional brass section, and chap who manages all the visuals from on stage, plus the stage show is far more ambitious. It certainly all came together, this evening.

They started with a couple of songs from the new album before dipping back into their first album and, actually, apart from 'Korolev' they stayed away from 'The Race For Space' tracks right up to the end of the set. (I wonder if they have a bit of fatigue regarding that material?) 'The Other Side' was as magical as ever, although I think the soulless oiks who talk through that track should be banned from gigs forever.

Other highpoint for me were (predictably) "Spitfire", "The Pit", "They Gave Me A Lamp", and "Lit Up". I don't think you'd have to know the material to enjoy the show and if you enjoy live music, then I can't recommend them enough. 

****
-13.6 kgs
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.