Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Storm Brian

Location: Waterside, Chasewater Country Park, Staffordshire

Daybreak on another windy day.  A use of the Lee Big Stopper to smooth what were choppy waters and blur the clouds scudding across the sky.  

Even before I took this shot I'd been surprised when I only noticed a small group of red deer behind my car after I was donning boots at the back of the car.  Despite being in plain sight they were perfectly camouflaged against the vegetation in its autumn hues.

I know that in many places the deer are completely unfazed by humans, but it isn't usual in this part of the country.  In fact, bum shots are normally the theme of the day when ever I see them.  The extra was taken with an equivalent 600mm lens but is full frame, no cropping.  I reckon I was less than 15 metres from the doe when I took the shot.  Early morning dog walkers were passing them even closer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.