Mellow Fruitfulness.

The cultural blip this time is to illustrate  the colours of the season where we are.  Here in England it is autumn, which John Keats summed up so well in his poem 'Ode To Autumn', describing it as the season of mists and mellow fruitfulness.
I love the changing colours of the leaves, but I especially love the tastes and smells of Autumn.  The days are beginning to get colder and the nights are drawing in, which to me means that it is time for  rich warming  stews and casseroles using seasonal vegetables : the swedes, pumpkins, squashes, peppers, all of whom are such great shapes and colours..  Also the fruits, lovely though they are to eat fresh, are made so much more when baked with cinnamon, raisins and cloves or in pies.
So I have tried to capture some of this in my blip, you will have to imagine the aromas as all these lovely things are cooking and filling the kitchen with the scent of an English autumn
This will also count for number 2 in my Still Life series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.