Artist Talk: Everything is a Moon

I met up with Jude on the train (she got on in Sheffield) and we went along to see Amy-Jane Blackhall, winner of last years Flourish Award, talk about her work, ideas and how she went about producing the pieces for her current exhibition at Huddersfield Art Gallery.   Here she's talking about screen printing onto the glass tiles and I think for me the tiles on the floor work so much better than the huge mirror tile on the wall in the gallery.  I liked the way that as you moved around the light affected the view and the reflections gave different perspectives.   I've included one of my favourite photos in the extra.  I think there could be lots of ongoing development around this idea.

It was also good to spend a few hours catching up with Jude as we don't seem to meet as frequently as we once did.  Apparently it didn't stop raining in our village, whereas Huddersfield stayed reasonably dry while we were there.  That can't happen often, can it?  Oh and we enjoyed our browse in the art materials shop (and I bought a few things).  I think it must be one of the few real artists shops left in Yorkshire.  It's wonderful, a real Aladins cave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.