Ruffled!

Mr U&L and I braved the blustery weather this morning to see the stem train 'Royal Scot'. It was hauling a dining special to Bognor Regis, and my extra was taken from a bridge quite near to the Balcombe viaduct.
On the way home we stopped for a warming coffee and scone at Borde Hill Gardens, on our way out following a huge blustery shower I noticed this Red Admiral Vanessa atalanta  sitting on some vegetation on the wall, Luckily he seemed oblivious to me taking shots, and even jumped onto my finger when I offered it. 
Just as he settled on my finger though the wind blew like mad, and if you look closely at this shot you will see the fur on his body all ruffled the wrong way by the strong wind! 
I was delighted though, it is always a privilege to have a butterfly on my finger, especially in October! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.