Autumn in Oregon

This little dead end road is about a mile from my home; I thought I would find a vacant street to photograph the Autumn colors, but there was a motorhome parked on the street. It is an isolated area so I assume they will be able to stay there for awhile. This is just a small example of the homeless problem in our area; there are tents everywhere closer to downtown Portland. The city is attempting to address the problem.....few are completely happy with the solutions chosen. Homeowners don't want the campers and motorhomes in their neighborhoods.....public property and bike trails seem to be the places used most often by the people with tents.....but private property is also being used by the homeless. It is not an easy problem to solve. There are homeless shelters; but not enough to meet the needs and some people don't want to live in a shelter. It is complicated. 
Today was a very rainy day....perhaps a much as 2 inches of rain here and 5 inches at the beach. I am glad we got home before the heavy rain arrived.  Lots of football games on TV for hubby. I watch them.....sort of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.