A time for everything

By turnx3

Fall display

Wednesday
A busy day today. I started out at the gym, then late morning I met up with a couple of other ladies from our church and we drove up together to Wilmington to serve at a soup kitchen our church supports. Wilmington is still reeling from the loss of DHL Express and other Wilmington Air Park operations, leaving high unemployment in its wake. The food is prepared by local people, and then various churches volunteer for different days to serve it. Our church sends people up one lunchtime a month and two evenings a month. This was my first time, and somewhat out of my comfort zone, so I decided to go for a lunchtime which tends to be quieter. They have a large, very well equipped kitchen up there, provided by Rachel Rae, television cooking show host. It was a good experience - I met a few people I didnt know from our church, as well as a bunch of other great people, and we enjoyed good sharing time in the car on the way there and back. I stopped in briefly at the supermarket on my way home to pick up a few things I forgot the other day, and that's where I got my blip for the day - the beautiful Fall display they have outside. That left me with a few hours in the afternoon to get some jobs done at home, before going back to church to make cards for the Deacon's Ministry, using Stampin' Up materials. Our leader, M. and her kids make all the preparations beforehand and makes wonderful sample cards, so we just assemble the parts provided, following the sample After that it was time for choir! Back home now, watching the presidential debate, and then I think I will be ready for bed.

One year ago: Balloon Fiesta

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.