But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Green Fields.

When I first started Blipping, I posted a view from a similar position with the caption, “One day, My Son – All this will be houses.” Just beyond the brown patch, centre left of the picture, there is the barely discernable corner of the field currently being turned into a housing estate; the three fields in between myself and that corner are next to be followed by a fourth just out of sight to the right. This development will double the population of the village. There’s nothing strange here as just about every small town and village in Midlothian is suffering a similar fate – as is just about every other town in Britain.
 
As I cycle around the countryside, I see lots of similar building works in progress with no obvious properties being built that the younger generation can afford. I can’t imagine from where all the residents are going to arrive, nor where they will keep their cars, do their shopping, send their children to school or seek medical advice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.