Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Gran Torre

I wanted to post an image from Valle Casablanca where we went today but I wasn't really happy with the images I took of the landscapes there.  It is about an hour from Santiago on good roads.  You go through two tunnels under the mountains covered in dry scrub and in many places an orange carpet of poppies and many wildflowers.

It is a relatively new wine growing area.  A little tricky because irrigation is from wells and it suffers from severe frosts. 

We visited three very distinct vineyards.  The first Emiliana is an organic vineyard complete with hens, guinea fowl, alpacas and other natural plants and methods for pest control.  They also practice biodynamics and I was most impressed with what they have achieved.  I have put a shot from where we did the winetasting showing a bit of the vineyard up in the first extra.

The second vineyard, Bodega Re used more of an ancient method for making their wines.  They also make fabulous liqueurs, oils and vinegars.  After this tasting I had had enough wine - I really don't drink that much so when we got to the third vineyard, Casa Del Bosque I passed on the tasting.  We had a sumptuous lunch there and Gail and I had a 5 minute siesta while the other drank.

We didn't get back in to Santiago until late and met on the rooftop of our hotel for sundowners (Pisco sours of course).  This was the view looking to the East of Gran Torre, the tallest building in Latin America.  Overshadowed of course by the magical Andes.

It was then off for a walk in the park and a quick bit to eat and now it is nearly midnight.  We are off to the desert tomorrow but a relatively late start.  Nighty night all.

Oh and the last extra is the BVM which I found at Bodega Re.  For you Freespiral

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.