85/55

The (extremely) regular blood pressure checking continued and I was concerned that because it was low, it would be a reason to keep me in hospital. The as yet undiagnosed virus (malaria ruled out) has suppressed my immune system, lowered my blood pressure and made me generally feeble.

I was recuperated enough not to be kept on a ward, and tried to display liveliness and energy whenever medical workers came into the room. I really started climbing the walls after getting locked in the toilet. I needed to hammer madly on the door to alert the nursing staff, who all turned up for their own protection, thinking I was having some sort of tropical parasite-induced mental breakdown.

I was reflecting more on the differences between South Sudanese and UK healthcare with one of the hospital assistants whose dad is working in Africa in bomb disposal. There, diagnoses are faster, less accurate and medications are doled out quickly and less thoroughly. Here systems and rigour aim to give accuracy and treat issues exactly. Even without a diagnosis I am feeling better because of good care, rest and kind treatment and Ivan in Yambio is still feeling pretty groggy despite getting an immediate diagnosis and drugs.

I received a discharge letter and was pleased to be released from hospital as blip opportunities are limited in a small, confined room. It's also nice to bed down without a cannula as they get in the way of free arm movement and aren't compatible with my sleeping style.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.