20 minutes until starvation

The title relates to bees, not me, as I'm eating a lot whilst on a go-slow from work. Bees' bodies cannot store much energy so they must ensure they always have nectar within reach. A second bee fact is that males' sexual organs explode after mating so queen bees are often flying around with parts of multiple male bees' genitalia stuck to them.

I pedalled into town to show my face briefly at two social events: my friend Tanya who is leaving our office to move to the Forest of Dean, where she's from. Then to greet Rachel on her birthday in this bar where a group of old pals were assembled. I generally view this bar as overly pretentious and last attempted to come in after our office Christmas party whereupon I had an altercation with the doorman. He wouldn't let us in because the manager had arbitrarily decided it was full. The doorman didn't appreciate me pointing out the available space and seating inside. 'Mate, don't tell me where there are stools.'

Cycling when recovering from a virus is sweat-inducing and left me panting unnecessarily. I had to retreat to bed after the exertion of the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.