Penultimate

A full final day in the UK, and it resembled a circus. Charity shop drops, clothes recycling, lining up Portuguese lessons (and budget to pay for them), setting up my new work laptop, distributing useful files to colleagues, using the last opportunity to catch people face to face, organising legal advice to tap into in Mozambique, numerous goodbyes and receiving kind gifts and cards from Elizabeth and Zoe.

I was hard to track down in the building so I'm embarrassed to say I couldn't respond to all calls and messages of the various well-wishers and didn't get the chance to see all good friends. Meeting Leigh to say goodbye epitomised the general chaotic approach. She had headed into town at about 4pm to find me but I was embroiled in various things in the office and couldn't slip out. Eventually at 8pm after she'd mooched for hours and attended a talk, I made an appearance as she waited patiently in a car park. I'm very glad to have caught her as she's been one of the many people to show such kindness in helping me prepare for the move.

As they have done for the last week, Berry and Helen made another nice dinner, saving me from my inevitable default diet of cereals and the occasional pork pie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.