(s)emigration?

Cambridge was stunning again in the sun, and I enjoyed the walk down the hill to have breakfast with Berry and Helen. Conversation with these two, as always, was fabulous until the moment we parted. I'll miss them hugely and thank them so much for giving me a base for the final week since I had to move out of my own place. Two of life's greatest eggs.

I may be drawn to adventure but I'm definitely less comfortable with the build-up to a transition than I like to think I am. I've been feeling unsettled and stressed out trying to fit everything in and leave ends tied. I was surprised by this as I'm often making arrangements to go somewhere and am not daunted by new places. I'm attributing it to challenges ahead with documentation in Mozambique and the stark change in daily work life: going from a highly interactive sociable office where I thrive, to flying solo and operating for now without an immediate team or office. My friend Georgina yesterday said I was 'obscenely adaptable', so I'll hang onto this when filled with self-doubt.

Despite the madness of recent days, when my excess baggage had been checked in and they'd quizzed why my hand luggage contained so many electronics ('because I'm moving countries'), anxiety began to lift. People said this would happen and people were right.

Am I emigrating? It feels like I more or less am, although I'm keeping strong ties in Cambridge by way of my flat, friends and head office. I have learnt a lot from previously living overseas and do strongly believe that treating Maputo as my proper home will lead to the correct mindset and avoid a transient feeling. I didn't do that before and it took a while to see Cambodia as my true base without that nagging sensation that it was only temporary. As fulfilling as the experience was, I'm not sure I ever lost that feeling there, and want to avoid it this time. So yes, let's call this an emigration.

On the plane I settled down to the Adventures of Tintin, which I used to love as a kid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.