Vida nova

My new life starts here. Not specifically at this sports club I'm gazing down on, but metaphorically here in Maputo where I'm standing.

Fairly braindead after a night of travel, so no riveting reflections to be made today. Other than that I'm glad I'm doing it. It's a fun, relaxed, manageable city and both work and life here hold a great degree of promise.

I made it through customs at the airport with a towering pile of luggage that was only saved from scrutiny as the officers were engaged elsewhere. The trusty taxi driver, Vitoria, who I have used on previous trips, was happy when I called but unhappy when she realised my hotel this time is closer to various amenities and her services may be drawn upon less often. She has been gallant about teaching me a few Portuguese words during journeys so was further miffed when I said I had an official teacher lined up to start soon. I said I was spreading the love around town, which pacified her.

I had a sundowner at an unpretentious bar that is bounded on one side by the water and on the other by the busy Avenida Marginal which rings the seafront of the city. Then dinner at a recommended restaurant, Botanica, which was divine and decent value. Even though Maputo couldn't be called cheap, especially for accommodation and anything not produced in Mozambique, I'm reminded that in the UK we really pay through the nose for many things. I'm hoping a slightly cheaper cost of living will offset the higher tax bill I'll have here when all my papers are in order and I start paying it to the Mozambican government.

I crashed out fairly early, feeling contented.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.