Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Late Walk

Riverside Nature Reserve lies adjacent to the A3 and isn't the quietest of walks but it never fails to surprise me.  The path to the lake isn't my favourite as many dog walkers don't seem to care about picking up their dog's dirt, the traffic noise makes conversation almost inaudible and it's not particularly pretty, but once through the first field, the din diminishes and the entire landscape changes to reveal a walk around this lake that's stunning. 

I'm always amazed by the amount of wildlife and it is truly a birdwatchers dream.  I rarely go to 'shoot' the birds as the dogs are with me and I prefer not to risk them taking advantage of my eyes on the lens rather than on them, but I should.  The wildlife seems to tolerate our four legged friends more than in other places and are happy to stay very close even when there are dogs chasing sticks and swimming in their direction. There is a surprising diversity and it's not an overly used destination.  

I'm not looking forward to the clock's changing. The shortening days mean less time to walk.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.