... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese: "Goslin' in the wind"

Better feather detail in large ("L").

*Sigh*
Just look at it!
I spent an hour at the pond this morning, and the goslings were being picturesque but not flappy-dancing or making any effort to take to the air! Then, just as I was thinking of leaving, they suddenly all got into a flying frenzy! They scurried across the water, flapping and making a huge amount of effort, but they couldn't clear quite the water so just splashed a lot and sped about. It was adorable, and they seemed so excited!
I got a few pictures of their attempts, but they were slightly too far away and the light wasn't great so I'll leave that for another day, or upload one of today's pics to Blipfolio at a later date if I don't get any better ones over the weekend.

I like this picture though: the whole family was having a mega preening session by the side of the pond, and the wind was blowing their feathers all over the place. This one had its back to the wind.

I've put an HDR of my favourite local tree on Blipfolio (here). It is really my autumn favourite because its leaves turn yellow very suddenly, and it catches the sun beautifully; when there is little wind, its leaves pool around it creating a sort of yellow shadow in the grass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.