PHEW !

Late today but apart from a coffee break I've never stopped. I didn't need to go out so thought I'd go through the upstairs like a dose of salts. I only managed to fill a carrier bag with paper.Its one of those jobs where you read everything as you go along and get nothing done.I came across this book about the Norwegian ferry boats and all work stopped.Its hard to believe its a week since we were on the Dutch ferry.The author was I think one time Editor of the local Evening Chronicle. He had put an ad in the paper wanting to hear from anyone who worked on the boats when they were in the Tyne.My youngest son saw the ad and said I should write in so I did. I only wrote a short piece. My job was on the Braemar.She was a beautiful boat. I worked on the VenusJupiter and Leda on quick sailings.
I loved that job.The Captain was a bit of a sour puss but the Chief was lovely even though he had eyes in the back of his head ;) It was strange to see the crew last week using a vacuum cleaner.I don't think they had one back then.All areas were lino and we scrubbed them on all fours :( If you've been on the Dutch ferry you will know how huge it is with its 7 decks and an enclosed tunnel to board. You will see the difference in size to the Norwegian ferries. We boarded up the gangplank straight onto the deck.The Watchman kept an eye out.There was no houses or buses  in the area as one photo shows.It was a long walk from top to bottom especially after work.If we were flush we would share a taxi otherwise hitch a lift. I was in my thirties some women were old.Thinking about it they were really only 50 ish :( :( :( The book signing was on the Earl of Zetland but I didn't make it .That boat is/was a floating restaurant. Its on the spot where Fred Olsen offices were and we filed in for our wages.Happy days ;) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.