GracieG

By GracieG

Clean Sheets and Happiness

It’s strange what you think about when doing mundane jobs around the house.  The pleasure of clean sheets came to mind when I was changing the bed this morning, and then I started thinking about other of life’s ‘little pleasures’.  There are many, but mine include the smell of fresh coffee, the sound and smell of a steam train, watching the birds feeding in the garden, the changing of the seasons, just to name a few…what are yours?
 
My thoughts then turned to thinking about happiness.  How many times do we think that if only I was slimmer/younger/ had more money/ didn’t have any health issues, etc. etc. then I would be happy. Probably no one ever gets to the point in their lives where every aspect of it runs smoothly at the same time, and therefore our endless pursuit of happiness goes on.  For me, at least, happiness is experienced in brief moments every now and then, and it’s by appreciating and focusing on these moments that actually make life special.  Yes…I do have health issues, and I would love more money (and I know I should eat less cake) but actually, I feel very blessed because along with the special people around me, (and without wishing to sound smug) I feel able to make the most of those happy moments. 
 
Just this afternoon M and I were standing in the garden watching and listening to a large flock of pink foot geese flying over us which was a magic moment indeed, then the doorbell rang and dear friend B had bought me a box of my very favourite macarons from Norwich (to cheer me up after another bout of migraines).   See what I mean?  Two moments of happiness to enjoy today…and the pleasure of the clean sheets still to come!
 
Remember happiness doesn't depend upon who you are or what you have; it depends solely on what you think.
Dale Carnegie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.