Seascape - Moonscape

Bantham Beach at half term is full of people, the sea is awash with surfers and to be honest it doesn't look like there's much to be had for the landscape photographer. There's the pretty pink boathouse of course but that's not where I was heading today.

First I headed to the  gastro bus for a bacon bap for my lunch waiting for the tide to drop a little lower and also hoping that the sun which was valiantly trying to burn through the mist would succeed. Then it was wellies on, round to the left side of the beach and keep going.

The sedimentary rocks are all rotated through 90 degrees to make long ribs going out to sea, they're quite difficult to traverse as well. There are lots of rock pools which would warrant exploration. Eventually you get to another small beach but the tide was still a bit high for me to get right round there today. So my blip is the view of this tall sea stack and the first extra is another taken with the drone with a boat coming by.

On my way back I saw some guys coming through with ropes and stuff and I thought they must be going to climb the stack. Once back round the corner and back to the main beach I took the coastal path up along the cliffs and sure enough, I got a shot of one on top of the pinnacle. You can see him in the second extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.