fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Ohio streamlet fall reflections

Lifes joys and sorrows
Intermingling reflections
Replenish the soul

 This is the first of what will be two weeks of back blips as I've traveled back to my childhood Ohio home to celebrate my  lovely namesake's wedding and to comfort my pa. family in the recent loss of my 36yr old niece from Pancreatic cancer., and to be supportive of my grand nephew's numerous eye surgeries (only four yrs. old).  While there my dear longtime childhood friend of close to 60 years lost her mother...and she had just lost her husband in June...and she suffered four herniated discs...her suffering just goes on and on..
      ....but I also experienced the incredible highs and lows of all that goes into family celebrations...the immense unconditional love family can bring ...the warm embraces of such love and joy and sorrow...I found spiritual replenishment not only from quiet nature walks, but from these warm loving embraces from family and friends that I know well and love well.  I saw also the incredible resilience of a 4yr. old boyeven after having gone through repeated eye surgeries...his continued exuberence for life was a gift to all of us who know him....I shared in the  joyous wedding of my niece and her very special man and ...shared this joy not only with Ohio family , but also my son who came in for the wedding from Portland.  I shared joys and sorrows with my 34 year old son and observed his amazing loving and compassionate nature...his giving to all around him and his ability to listen and be so supportive to his cousins and family in Ohio and Pa.  Being with him and observing him lifted my spirits and gave me the strength and energy to provide necessary comfort and support to those in need. 
      I made new connections with friends from the past, renewed family connections and deepened them.  My body may be rather exhausted from the travels, but my spirit has a renewed belief in the overall goodness and kindness and importance of family and friends ...and the ability we humans have to be caring and loving and supportive in the face of extreme adversity.  I will be forever thankful for sharing in the joys and sorrows of those I love.  What a gift.
  Extras from Ohio Shaker Nature Center

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.