Bifröst: it makes me wonder

There's a lady who's sure

All that glitters is gold

And she's buying a stairway to heaven

When she gets there she knows

If the stores are all closed

With a word she can get what she came for

Oh oh oh oh and she's buying a stairway to heaven ....

.... ooohh, it makes me wonder




If I was an old Viking wandering around the streets of Cork today I might have thought I had come across Bifröst -the rainbow bridge that was said to connect Asgard, the world of the Gods, with Midgard, the human world. Maybe, maybe or maybe not, not for I was in Cork to say a fond farewell to the Professor of Holy Wells before she departs for Tennessee next week. We brunched in the English market and then .... of course, we went in search of a well. These steps lead up towards it,  Lady's Well, much revered but today it looked dreadful. Everywhere graffitied, empty cans of beer and even syringes lying everywhere, the water of the well choked with debris. It is in the most superb position with huge views out across the city and in fact it is the only intact well therein. To be fair, the council have renovated it on at least two occasions but each time it just gets vandalised. The Gods, old and new,  would not be impressed.

And I think I shall chance my luck and enter it for Abstract Thursday - lots of movement here by the time you've climbed up this lot!

Stairway to Heaven

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.