The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Lobster creels at Pittenweem harbour

Today we explored the coast of Fife; I'd had a sudden urge to see the harbour towns of the East Neuk, having visited Elie in my tender years. (The Fife I knew as a child was the area around Dunfermline, which became blighted by opencast mining. Not a fishing boat in sight!)

My friend Elspeth, with whom we're staying in Glenfarg, Perthshire, had cooked us an enormous breakfast (including Lorne sausage: yay!) She also offered to drive, so after eating we piled into her van and set off for the ruins of Balmerino Abbey, formerly a Cistercian Abbey of considerable size. We particularly admired the 450-year old Sweet Chestnut tree.

Then it was on to Newport on Tay, for a view of the rail bridge, followed by a quick detour across the road bridge into Dundee. It's changed a lot since 1981, when I last visited...

Our first major stop was in St Andrew's, whose university Elspeth attended as a mature student. I have to admit that the grand quadrangle that Elspeth showed me put Edinburgh's in the shade, though of course I haven't visited my old place of study since it's been tidied up! The views over the beach and out towards the Bass Rock were remarkably clear, but there was yet more to come: Elspeth treated me to an enormous ice cream from Janetta's!

We then set off for our harbour towns tour, taking in Crail, where we sat on the beach in the sun; Anstruther which reminded me of Tobermory, and Pittenweem, where I snapped these lobster creels on the pier against a background of cottages. We had to skip Elie's harbour, as we had to pick up Elspeth's daughter from Kinross school. We then took a quick spin down to the shore of Loch Leven, abd wandered along the sands as the light began to fade.

A further trip to Perth was planned, but we decided to go to the chippie in Milnathort instead, to get a fish supper! As we sat at home with Elspeth, a procession of friends and neighbours came round, including some children who borrowed a pumpkin carving knife, and came back a few minutes later with a ghoulish-faced lantern and a 'Donald Trumpkin,' complete with fake hair.

I went to bed filled with happiness: so much sunshine, such great friendship! Elspeth and I hadn't seen each other for 6 years. Next time, we won't leave it as long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.