Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Looking at me

I had to drive to the tiny market at Baggs, WY (which is only a 20 mile trip) to get some butter and a few snacks for the guys hunting.  There prices are outrageous! 

 The hunters had a major cold morning this morning at 16F.   There was ice on the creek again and I meandered down the hill to take a few photos before it melted.  

But anyway,  on my ride to the store, this mule deer buck and another buck walked in front of the truck and headed down the bank to the creek.   I pulled over and backed up a little to be able to get some photos out the window when they came back in view.   I wanted to get out in order to get past the fence lines but I knew they would run as soon as they heard the door open.  

This one stopped when it heard me calling ( I can't whistle so I just talk to them in a singsong low voice.)    He gave me a look and then decided I was okay as he stopped in the middle of the creek and drank some water...with the fence wire right in the middle of his face.
 
Glad no other trucks were coming as they probably would have run off.  

Further up the road was a bald eagle in a tree..too far for the lens I had.   Next time I go out, I will be taking both cameras as I sure could have used that digital zoom to 500mm today!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.