Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Visit to Edgefield

After a breakfast at a local restaurant, we decided to head out to Edgefield to see what we could see.  I knew the town was small but we were really surprised with how dying it is.   But there were some wonderful little shops.  We went to the Pottery where many years ago the slave Dave was taught how to make pots but also how to write..which was forbidden at the time.  Dave signed the pots, jars and vases with his initial and later years wrote poems or Bible verses on his large jars.   The potter was making a large pot there today.  Then we went looking for the working blacksmith shop.  It was closed today but we came upon the great store..The House Next Door.  It was a combination junk and valuable antique place.   Sheri found an old Bobbsey Twin book there that came home with her.    Then we walked the street in Edgefield but were really surprised there were hardly any other people out and about.   Sad about that but I think in the summer the town probably has many visitors.    We had a late lunch of homemade veggie soup and a piece of cake.  Then to the Moonshine Distillery..darn..I was driving so only allowed myself two little tastes.  Peach moonshine is really good!  

Home for a while then back out in a bit to go to a local vendor fair to see what we can see!   One of my friends is the coordinator and she wanted me to set up a booth to sell prints, calendars and notecards of my work but I was just not ready to do that.  Maybe next time..will check out the possibility to do this.

Jerry is on his way home from his Colorado hunting trip today.  It will take him until Monday to get home.  He is ready to be back here in his own bed!    

Sheri will be here for two more days then flies home on Tuesday.  It will be so different to get back to "normal" for me.  Oh wait..I don't have a normal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.