The Fife Skate Phenomenon...

I've noticed a curious thing during my time involved in the Scottish skate scene. There are no vert ramps in Scotland and the skatepark provision is Fife itself is pretty good although is more quantity rather than quality. In spite of this there seems to be a significant number of outstanding and stylish skaters come out of Fife from wee villages and towns along Scotland's East coast.

There are Grant and Bobby Baillie, Morbid, Gordon 'Gusho' Dear and I think Blair McAfferty is just from the tip of Fife before you cross the water into Dundee where there are even more kicking about. There is also the new blood in Matty Welsh and Scotty here furnishing your eyes with a nice Indy Fakie, to name but a couple.

The list could go on and on but it still amazes me the quality of skating that comes out of The Kingdom which far outweighs it's facilities.

There was a nice Fife contingent at our Winter Jam held at Unit23 Skatepark in Dumbarton today and although I wasn't able to stay to see the actual start of the comp skating, I'm sure they'll have walked away with at least a wee bit of booty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.