Thunderous Applause

This morning I was lucky enough to join the academic procession for the 2017 graduation ceremony of Open University in Scotland students. Or indeed any OU student who chose to cross the stage at the Usher Hall. As always there was thunderous applause, laughter, tears and evidence of the hard work and commitment of OU students most of whom study whilst working, caring, undergoing gruelling medical treatment or any number of other obstacles. There were very young and much more mature people celebrating their success this morning. It was great to catch up with colleagues and get news of students I knew before I left my job with the OU last year. Two worthy honorary graduates added to the morning.

Now I'm on a delayed train home for a quick turnaround. I have to adorn some cupcakes I made yesterday with orange icing, cobwebs and rice paper black cats. From the sublime ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.