Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Gate is not for Opening

Sunrise went back an hour this morning, but it was no hardship to be out and about in expectation of a sunrise.  What I saw was not so much a sunrise as a weird magenta glow in the sky, probably caused by the suns rays reflecting back down from high cloud, while low cloud blocked any direct sunlight.  

I snuck over a wall and some barbed wire fencing to take this shot looking back from a field.  I was taken by the gate being there, when it was obvious it wouldn't be opening.

I tried to process this image in colour, but it just didn't pop, so I tried a black and white conversion in Nik Silver Efex Pro.  It's been good to hear that the company, DXO, have bought Nik Software from Google and intend to keep developing it.  I suspect that updates will cost from now on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.